Views
Helpful
Replies

Routing between vlans

Tiago Reis
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have one question about with this theme.

Imagine a connection between a router and a switch with 2 vlans. In all instalations that I made, I always create the vlans on both router and switch and the connections between the 2 equipments are made with a trunk link with 2 vlans.

Now i'm studying to icnd2 and I saw that Cisco recomends to do this type of connection using sub interfaces.

My question is if it will works in a different way comparing with the way i used until now?
It works in both ways, the only difference that I saw is that I have an ip address to the subinterface...

Am I correct?

Thanks in advance,

Tiago Reis

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Tiago,

It seems that you have always used a router with a switching card - either a built-in switch or an added HWIC module with 4 or 9 ports. Am I correct in assuming this? Can you provide us with a quick example of what commands you use to configure the router this way?

In any case, what the ICND2 course suggests is also correct (and probably the most common way of doing these things). The idea of this router-on-stick approach with subinterfaces is that you are configuring a routed port. If you are using the switching HWIC module, that configuration with creating VLANs and configuring a port as a trunk is specific for switched ports which cannot have IP addresses by themselves so a Switched Virtual Interface - the interface Vlan X has to be created that will contain the IP address of the router in the particular VLAN.

In effect, both these approaches are identical and I assume that in a software-based router like x800 or x900 series, they even work very similarly inside the router.

Best regards,

Peter

View solution in original post

Hello Tiago,

I am glad to help.