cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
298
Views
10
Helpful
5
Replies
Highlighted
Beginner

Safe disabling VTP

Hi!

After vtp mode transparent/vtp mode off, what happens to the vlan's running on the switch?
It will not lead to disaster?
I will see vlan's in a running-config?

This seems to be a very popular question..

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Contributor

Use vtp mode off if possible
For safety - change vtp domain after this, use random string
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Helping seriously ill children, all together. All information about this, is posted on my blog
Highlighted
Beginner

Disabling VTP will not change the current VLAN database. You will see it in running config. There will be no disaster.

Highlighted
Engager

 

vtp mode transparent will write vlans ids in current config (saves) 100% sure; while not sure about vtp mode off (probably same but i will check);  VTP mode client and server will not do that; VTP mode client and server save vlan ids in vlan.dat file on flash. 

vtp mode transparent is needed for implementation of Private vlans - if you ever consider stronger security measures

like others said there will be no disaster when switching to transparent/off mode.

 

Regards, ML
**Please Rate All Helpful Responses **

 

Highlighted


vtp domain CCIE
vtp mode transparent
!
spanning-tree mode pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
spanning-tree vlan 10,20,30 priority 28672
!
!
vlan 2,5,10,15,20,30,40,50

-----------------------------
vtp domain CCIE
vtp mode off
!
!
spanning-tree mode pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
spanning-tree vlan 10,20,30 priority 28672
!
!
vlan 2,5,10,15,20,30,40,50
Highlighted
VIP Expert

As others have already noted, disabling VTP shouldn't lead to disaster, but perhaps better might be saying it shouldn't lead to any immediate disaster. For other than immediate, much would depend whether there's an expectation or usage of VTP working in any of your network.

The switch where VTP is set to transparent or off will have all the same VLAN information it had at the time its mode was changed. Further, VLAN changes will be allowed to be made on that switch and they will only apply to that switch. However, adjacent switches could be impacted. Transparent mode, may continue to relay the VTP database between connected switches while off mode will block any relay.
Content for Community-Ad