cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Simulating a data route switch in Packet Tracer

AstroGuy13605
Level 1
Level 1

I'm very new to networking, so apologies in advance if I use incorrect terminology.

I'm looking to use Packet Tracer to simulate a "handoff" in data routing. I have a test case set up with 2 computers, 2 switches, and 2 data lines between the switches (image below). What I want to do is for PC0 to send data (simplex) to PC2 through the top channel between the switches. At some point, I would like all the data to stop being sent through the top channel and instead sent through the bottom channel between the switches, so essentially there is a "handoff" in paths for data to travel through. Specifically, I'm investigating what happens when the two data routes have different latencies. 

Is this something that can be done in Packet Tracer, and if so, any pointers/advice/links are appreciated! Also please let me know if there is a more appropriate forum for this question.

Screen Shot 2020-01-11 at 5.59.38 PM.png

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

if you increase the spanning tree cost on the currently active (upper) link, this will generate a failover, and the other (lower) link will become active. So lets say your Switch0 is configured as below:

Switch0

interface FastEthernet0/0

description Link to PC0

!

interface FastEthernet0/1

description Link_1 to Switch1

!

interface FastEthernet0/2

description Link_2 to Switch1

Now if you go into interface configuration mode for FastEthernet0/1 and set the spanning tree cost to a high value:

Switch0#conf t

Switch0(config)#interface FastEthernet0/1

Switch0(config-if)#spanning-tree vlan 1 cost 20000

the link on FastEthernet0/2 will beome active.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Deepak Kumar
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,