Views
Helpful
Replies

spanning-tree bpduguard enable

giacomo12
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am studying for CCNP switching. I am trying to apply the spanning-tree guard loop in my virtual lab. I set the port of the root instance 1 switch Gi0/2 as  spanning-tree bpduguard enable. I have connected to that port another switch setting a lower priority and I can correctly see the log of the root switch instance 1 port set to err-desable state, but why I can not see that port as inconsistent when I type the command: shoe spanning-tree inconsistent ports?

The ppt attached display the topology and some show commands of the root switch and the other switch which is trying to become the root (CiscoIOSvL215.2.4055-1).

Thank you

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

@giacomo12 greetings,

you can apply root guard, on the root trunking interface, and when it will receive a bpdu with a lower priority, this message appears after root guard blocks a port:

%SPANTREE-2-ROOTGUARDBLOCK: Port 1/1 tried to become non-designated in VLAN 77. Moved to root-inconsistent state

Please note, that BPDU filter filters BPDUs in both directions. BPDU filter will prevent inbound and outbound BPDU but will remove portfast state on a port if a BPDU is received. Enabling BPDU filtering on an interface is the same as disabling spanning tree on it and can cause spanning-tree loops.

On the other hand, BPDU Guard keeps an eye open for any BPDU’s entering the interfaces that are enabled this feature. The port will disable as soon as the first BPDU is received, by shutting the port down (err-disabling it)