cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Spanning-Tree Limitations

smcline06
Level 1
Level 1

I am currently studying for my CCNA and during a CBT Nugget video it mentions Spanning-Tree is really only effective to around 4-5 daisy chained switches. I am wondering if this is the case and to what extent would spanning tree not be viable to use?

Thank you in advanced, you all here have already been so much help

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Sean,

The STP is capable of handling any switched topology with a default maximum diameter of 18 or less switches (the limit of 18 is given by the fact that BPDUs are in fact stored only for max_age-message_age seconds where the message_age is a BPDU hop counter set to 0 on root bridge and incremented on each subsequent STP bridge). The statement that STP is effective only for 4-5 switches is, in my opinion, an overstatement. It protects any reasonable switched topology against bridging loops. An overly large switched domain would become problematic for another reasons, not just because of STP

Best regards,

Peter

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Sean,

The STP is capable of handling any switched topology with a default maximum diameter of 18 or less switches (the limit of 18 is given by the fact that BPDUs are in fact stored only for max_age-message_age seconds where the message_age is a BPDU hop counter set to 0 on root bridge and incremented on each subsequent STP bridge). The statement that STP is effective only for 4-5 switches is, in my opinion, an overstatement. It protects any reasonable switched topology against bridging loops. An overly large switched domain would become problematic for another reasons, not just because of STP

Best regards,

Peter

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni