Views
Helpful
Replies

Student

pjkoni001
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am interest to start a new carrier in Networking.

I want to pass the CCNA exam.

I see in Cisco Press :

Cisco CCNA Routing and Switching 200-120 Official Cert Guide and Simulator Library

I want to know if that book is the best way to prepare my self to pass the CCNA exam?

Thank you.

Paul Julien.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

When I started out I was a junior network engineer. I took upon myself to read the CCNA book alongside my job.

If you're not in the industry I think a good start would be the CCNA book. Reading a book without kit to practice with might be difficult. I would recommend using GNS3 to get a feel for the command line alongside your study. Unless you have fantastic memory when it comes to actually doing  the job the book will be a useful resource to refer too but you will need to know how to create a VLAN for instance. The book will teach you a lot of theory, but you need to know certain command/syntax especially if you plan to take exams. Most people will only remember with doing and that's where GNS3 or buying kit will help.

That is my opinion and it is only advice. Others may disagree.

Good luck

Joel

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Joel
Level 1
Level 1

It's a good start.

I would recommend looking at VIRL or GNS3 to get some experience. If you have the money purchase some kit. People are always listing CCNA labs for sale on a certain site.

Not sure if you're in the industry but you will need to understand network services as well such as DNS/DHCP. I would add learning a bit about OS to fully understand the stack Linux/Windows/OSx.

Few tools you will find useful

For packet captures - WireShark/TCPDUMP

NMAP

MTR

NCAT

Hope this helps.

Joel

Thank you Joel.

It is a lot of information you gave me.

Where should I start?  Or doing 2 thinks in the same time?

I am not in the industry.

I learn programming (C++,...@UQAM University).