Views
Helpful
Replies

Switch VLANs for non CISCO routers

jcolley729
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, 

My apologies as I am new to CISCO networking in general. 

I have the following scenario. 

Equipment:

• A non cisco router which has to be used that provides 3 VLANS (10.81.0.*, 10.82.0.* and 10.83.0.*) accessible via a single Ethernet port for each VLAN
  • 1 Catalyst 2960 24 Port POE Switch (switch 1)
  • 1 Catalyst 2960-S 24 port POE Switch (switch 2)

What I want to be able to to do is to assign certain port ranges for each switch to different VLANS from the router.

for example.... 

Switch 1 ports 1- 15 can access external router VLAN1 

Switch 1 ports 16 - 24 and switch 2 ports 1-10 can access external router VLAN2

Switch 2 ports 11-24 can access external router VLAN3

My questions are:

1. is this possible with my current hardware? Can i simply configure VLANS on the switches and use one port in each of the VLAN ranges for the uplink to the router?

2. For VLAN 2 in the above example, what is the best way to configure a VLAN that spans ports on 2 switches?

3. If I want a certain device connected to a specific port on VLAN1 to be accessible to all other VLANS, how can I enable this?

Please be kind in your responses as I am new to this. 

Regards, 

James.

5 Replies 5

rakeshvelagala
Level 3
Level 3

Hi James,

If I understand correctly, below is what you are trying to achieve?

http://www.networkstraining.com/cisco-router-on-a-stick-with-switch/

You can trunk the switches.

Thanks

mfurnival
Level 4
Level 4

It does somewhat depend on the capabilities of your (non-Cisco) router and whether it supports the creation of multiple IP interfaces and routing between them. But assuming it does then everything you describe should be possible. To answer your questions:

1. is this possible with my current hardware? Can i simply configure VLANS on the switches and use one port in each of the VLAN ranges for the uplink to the router?

Yes, you can do this.