Views
Helpful
Replies

Tracing MAC address within L2 segment

danailpetrov
Level 1
Level 1

Hello guys,

I have been using that command for many years now and I showed it to a colleague of mine today, who raised an interesting question: How exactly that works? 

core01.acme.corp#traceroute mac 0025.84f7.0840 0026.3e03.5000 vlan 44
Source 0025.84f7.0840 found on core01.acme.corp
1 core01.acme.corp   (10.0.1.1)   : Vl44 => Gi1/11
2 dist01.acme.corp   (10.0.1.50)  : Gi0/3 => Gi0/4
3 access03.acme.corp (10.0.1.59)  : Gi0/3 => Fa0/10
3 access16.acme.corp (10.0.1.67)  : Fa0/1 => Fa0/22
Destination 0026.3e03.5000 found on access16.acme.corp
Layer 2 trace completed

And I couldn't answer.. I know it's using CDP, but not sure how exactly manages to go through all the switches this way. 

I tried to find some documentation about it, but couldn't find anything explaining how exactly that works.

Can you explain or point me to a document explaining it? 

Many thanks in advance!

5 Replies 5

Hi mate & thanks for your response.

I've seen the document you showed, but that still doesn't explain how exactly that works.

How does the switch know about exact port / mac location for switches a few hops away? Does it use a combination of CDP & SNMP? Is it relying upon CDP only? If so, again, how does it know about something which is a few hops away.. 

D

Fair point, I see where you are coming from.

Its obviously using CDP to work out the next switch in the chain. The guide also states it uses the CAM tables but I guess you are asking how the command run on one switch is able to do a CAM table lookup on a neighbour switch yes?

Best guess, its a Cisco utility so they have designed it to do that. How? Not a clue I am afraid.

One of the more technical guys may come along and provide more information hopefully.