Views
Helpful
Replies

VTP lab questions

prabhu446
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Every one,

I am new to this world and i have some knowledge on VTP and i am trying to implement in the lab. I have 2 switches 3550 and 3750. my questions are:

1. why i can't see vlans in the running config on switch 3750 even after i created 3 vlans?

2. the 3750 is power over ethernet switch and i am trying to connect 3550 and 3750 thru cross over cable trunk link and the ports doesn't show up no light nothing. is it the right way of cabling.

Please help me out.

Thank you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

The VLAN information in Cisco devices is stored in a separate file from the rest of the device configuration, it is called the vlan.dat file and depending on the IOS version, its information may or may not be included in the running config. If you can see the vlans when you do a "sh vlan" command rest assured they are there.

If you do not have a link between the devices, that is defiantly either a physical problem like a bad cable or one of the ports is shut down. I would definitely pull the crossover out of the mix to try and try using a known good strait-through cable. You must also be sure to use the "mdix auto" command on interface fa1/0/1 of the 3750 to enable the use of the strait-through cable.

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Gregory Snipes
Level 4
Level 4

You cannot see the VLANs on the other switch because your link between them is down and they have no way to propagate the VLAN info.

Why you do not have a link is the question. The crossover should work fine but if you had to make it (as most of us do) and are new to networking it is possible there is a flaw in the cable. The 3750 should support MDIX auto (automatic crossover), so you can try using premade strait-through and let it cross the cable internally.

Hello Gregory thank you for the repsonse: