Views
Helpful
Replies

Transferring calls between offices

Chris Campbell
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to voice, but have some experience with data and Cisco IOS. 

I have a small business customer who has a main office with a non-Cisco PBX solution and is opening a branch office.  The customer's telecom provider delivers voice service over fiber, which is provided as a POTS connection for phone service by an ONT.  The two offices are served by the same telecom, but are in different rate centers.  The customer would like to have the ability to transfer a call that comes into the main office to the branch office, and vice-versa.  The current PBX system doesn't support this. 

This should be technically possible, but I'm not sure what the name is for it, or if CUCM Express will support it.

Could someone help with the following questions?

1. Does CUCME support transferring a call that comes into one office to another?

2. What's this feature called?

3. What's involved in setting it up?

Thank you!

11 Replies 11

Vinod.s
Level 3
Level 3

Call transferring will support in cucm either by voip or pstn .

if you are making pstn transfer then its charges for you ...

But if you are making voip transfer then there iss no charge from isp but you have to check legality for this option.

I'll add a little detail:

Main office and branch office have a CUCME capable router.  A site-to-site VPN is established between the two sites for data.  Customer calls main office and needs to speak to an employee who is working at the branch office that day.  Customer is asked to hold while call is transferred so that customer doesn't have to hang up and call a different number.  The point of this is for customer convenience, not to avoid toll charges.  I should have said switching center instead of rate center.  I've already talked to the telecom company and they don't have any issue with this.