Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco C240 M6 LFF - is FlexMMC 600GB usable to install an OS ? Esxi

alanraczek11
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I was handed a Cisco C240 M6 LFF to install ESXi on . The issue is it does not have any hard drives in the front of the unit. There is only a 600GB drive plugged into the rear of the unit similar to this:

c240m6.PNG

from what i have found out this drive is on the Cisco FlexMMc. First is it possible to install ESXi on this drive or is this drive just used by the system? If I can install ESXi on this drive what are the discrete steps I need to use to accomplish this? I have CIMC set up and can work on it that way. I have limited experience in a "fresh" UCS blade setup.

Any help is appreciated.

8 Replies 8

KyoCode
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Alan,

what do you mean "by the system"? those rear storage drives are intended to be used by the OS (Windows / Linux / ESXi, etc), hence it won't wipe out the CIMC nor BIOS if OS is installed on those.

Furthermore, you can use vKVM to connect the iso via CIMC and check the partition list.

AIV

Okay, then how do I install an OS on this drive, that is the question. I have not come across much info on how to do this. I booted an ESXi DVD and it finds no drives so how do I configure this drive? It runs off of Flex MMC.

...Alan

Unfortunately I don't have standalone M6 server,

But you might need to create a Virtual drive based on those 2 M.2 physical drives, hence while connecting via CIMC you'll see an menu option listing Storage > 'Controller name', as an approach I have this one similar to what you can find:

KyoCode_0-1679588171871.png

I'm using SD Cards in this server and it has a FlexUtil controller which will have the options to create a Virtual drive out of the RAID M.2 controller,

let me know if you found it,

AIV

This is what I see:

flexmmc.PNG12GB_RAID.PNG