Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco UCS 5108 Add NIC to ESXi Host

djohnson
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am fairly new to the whole UCS world so I am slowly reading up to on it. We currently have a lab that has a 5108 that host two of our esxi5 servers. When I say lab I mean a setup that is not in production yet so I get to use it for learning right now. I right now each server I create gives me only 2 network cards to work with so I would like to add more. I attemtpted to add a new nic to the service template and the apply it but i get the following error.

"there are not enough resources overall. Not Enough vNICS available"

I am not sure what i am doing wrong or if 2 is my limit.

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Welcome Dennis,

The amount of vNICs you can create depend on the adaptor model.

Ex.

See the diagram below for supported virtual interfaces per adaptor model

When using the M81 VIC the max amount of interfaces you create is also dependent on the # of links between the IOM (Chassis) and Fabric Interconnects).  56 is assuming you have 4 links to each Fabric Interconnect from each IOM.

Additionally, full width blades (B250, B440) can support two mezz adaptors, so you can adjust the max vnic/vhba accordingly.

Regards,

Robert

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Welcome Dennis,

The amount of vNICs you can create depend on the adaptor model.

Ex.

See the diagram below for supported virtual interfaces per adaptor model

When using the M81 VIC the max amount of interfaces you create is also dependent on the # of links between the IOM (Chassis) and Fabric Interconnects).  56 is assuming you have 4 links to each Fabric Interconnect from each IOM.

Additionally, full width blades (B250, B440) can support two mezz adaptors, so you can adjust the max vnic/vhba accordingly.

Regards,

Robert

Robert,