Views
Helpful
Replies

Question regarding WSA Identification Profiles

FredrikW73
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,
I am quite new to the WSA. I have a question that I hope someone can answer.

I find the below comment from the WSA user guide peculiar 

https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/wsa/wsa11-7/user_guide/b_WSA_UserGuide_11_7/b_WSA_UserGuide_11_7_chapter_0110.html
Document: User Guide for AsyncOS 11.7 for Cisco Web Security Appliances - GD (General Deployment)
Chapter: Classify End-Users for Policy Application

Heading: Classifying Users and Client Software, 

Step 8 In the Membership Definition section, under Advanced/URL Categories:

"If you need to define membership by URL category, only define it in the Identity group when you need to exempt from authentication requests to that category."

Why is it not OK to specify an URL category that requires authentication?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

If you use a category at the "identity" level, that "becomes the identity" that is used to map which policy is applied.  So those transactions are treated as un-authenticated.  You'll get an IP in the logs, but not a username because for that specific transaction you don't have one. 

Typically in Identification profiles, you'll see the Global Identification profile, which is tied to whatever directory you have (AD, Ldap, etc) and then possibly some exceptions based on IPs, or more rarely a custom category of urls where certain computers or certain sites that don't play will with auth are exempted from authentication. 

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Not sure if i have addressed correctly here :

you looking to authenticate every URL - as per general deployment, user already authenticated with central system like AD, AD defined where the user Group belong to and what URL he can access - same can be defined in the access control to define whatgroup to access what content.