Views
Helpful
Replies

How to configure WAP581

Max5
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone,
This is my first time configuring WAP581, I need your help!
Both ports are connected to the POE switch, but only a 169.254.163.211 address is displayed through the packet capture, and FINDIT has not been able to find any device. The device has been reset and no default SSID appears. The light is always flashing green. There is a DHCP server of 192.168.1.0/24 in the network, and 192.168.1.254 is not occupied.
Does it require special tools or register or update firmware? The device does not have a console port.

6 Replies 6

Martin Aleksandrov
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Max5,

If the device had reset to the factory default you would have seen the "CiscoSB-Setup" wireless SSID. If the power light is always flashing that means the AP is rebooting. To reset the device to factory default settings with power on, press and hold the reset button for more than 10 seconds. The system light will go off.

The factory default IP address configuration of the access points is DHCP.  Make sure your DHCP server is running and can be reached. Search the wireless SSID "CiscoSB-Setup", and connect to this SSID with the passphrase "cisco123" (through mobile or phone or web browser on a pc). If there is no DHCP server in your network, after 60 seconds, the access point will fallback to a default IP address 192.168.1.254/24 so make sure the PC is on the same network. The default username is cisco and the default password is cisco. The first time that you log into the Access Point or after it has been reset to the factory default settings, the Access Point Setup Wizard appears.

For more information about the configuration steps, you can refer to the quick start guide and the administration guide:

https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/docs/wireless/access_point/csbap/wap581/quick_start/EN-US/WAP581_QSG_EN.pdf