cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

5508 Reporting on Offline AP's (UP/DOWN)

mnancekivell
Level 1
Level 1

Apologies if this is posted in the wrong spot or a duplicate post that maybe has been already answered.

We have a Single 5508 controller deployed with 284 AP's attached at the moment. Every day I get mixed amount of AP's that are offline for whatever reason based on what's reported via the Controller -> Monitor -> Summary > Access Point Summary. The Controller should report all of the registered AP's as either Up or Down. For 284 AP's I'm seeing 275 UP and 0 Down where it should say 9 DOWN. Perhaps my understanding of UP and Down are different.  It makes it hard to troubleshoot what AP's are offline. Has anyone else noticed this? Suggestions? I'm a newbie to Cisco Wireless. I'm currently having to filter by AP Name and sort through a spreadsheet to find out which ones are down which can be quite time consuming.

WLAN Summary.JPG

Thanks In Advance

6 Replies 6

Scott Fella
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

When you are looking at the main screen which is the monitor tab of the wlc. The view which you are seeing is telling you how many AP's are joined to the wlc. If you see radios in a down state, that means how many radios are down from the AP's that are joined. So if you know the total ap count, this must mean your AP's are bouncing. You can go to the wireless tab and then go to the last page. The AP's that come up last are listed at the end. You can also check the ap itself when it comes back online and has joined the wlc. In the AP view, that will show you how long the ap has been powered up and how long it has been joined.

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***