Views
Helpful
Replies

Change AP names with a bulk file

dpcdpcdpc
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone!

I'm a beginner in the Wireless world and I want to change most AP names in my topoloogy while using Cisco Prime 3.3 (100+ devices). To achieve this I believe I need to:

1) Export a csv with the APs I want to modify.

2) Modify their hostname in the csv file.

3) Import  the csv file to Cisco Prime.

Is this the correct approach? In that case:

1) How can I select every the device at once? I'm trying to select all the APs in: Configuration / Wireless Technologies / Access Point Radios / Export AP Config, but I can't find the option to select all the devices at once. Just one by one.

2) When I modify and import the new csv file to Cisco Prime: Will it overwrite my current AP configuration with its new hostname? Or I will have the same AP twice? (one with the old name and one with the new)

Thanks in advance!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Only a few 100?  That's nothing. 

I change AP names by the thousands and I do it using CLI.

I put the current name into a spreadsheet, put in a formula and the command for the new name is generated.  I use that generated command to cut-n-paste into the WLC.  

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Only a few 100?  That's nothing. 

I change AP names by the thousands and I do it using CLI.

I put the current name into a spreadsheet, put in a formula and the command for the new name is generated.  I use that generated command to cut-n-paste into the WLC.  

Leo is right on here. I have done thousands this way. I generate an excel spreadsheet from the list of names and the just paste the commands in the cli.  

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***

That's awesome Leo! I didn't know you can do it that way and seems way easier than my approach. Would you mind sharing the template you use with me so I can start learning how it's done?