Views
Helpful
Replies

Mobility Express APs don't boot without external DHCP server

Arne Bier
VIP
VIP

Hello

I am very new to Mobility Express. I got quite far in setting it up, but I think I missed an important step ...

I have two 4800's running AIR-AP4800-K9-ME-8-8-130-0.tar and they were working perfectly when they were connected to the same switch in the office which also had a DHCP server running.  I have sent these two APs to a remote location for an AP Survey-On-A-Stick. The engineer on site connected the APs to the power brick (no switch, no DHCP server) and the APs are just blinking - waiting for an IP. 

I have a feeling that I must have chosen a DHCP option during the Mobility Express wizard setup on the console.

I did not capture the logs from the Console setup wizard   - But I did assign each AP a unique IP address as follows

My tftp server on 192.168.1.250

WAP1 IP 192.168.1.2 

WAP2 IP 192.168.1.3

console logging disable
capwap ap ip 192.168.1.2 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.250 
ap-type mobility-express tftp://192.168.1.250/AIR-AP4800-K9-ME-8-8-130-0.tar

I did the same for WAP2. When it was all over, I was able to log into the GUI and configure the Mobility Express.

mobexpress.PNG

Is there a command to make all this "standalone" to not rely on DHCP ? I need these two APs to be independent of each other (i.e. each one is its own Controller) and not rely on being connected to the same LAN, or even be in range of one another.

I have a feeling the command below might be it - but which AP do I issue this on, and is the management IP address the same on both APs? Is this IP address different to the IP address of the APs themselves?  

config interface address management <IP_addr> <netmask> <gateway>

Do I need the ap-manager config too? And/or redundancy-management?

I don't have access to these APs but I need to provide some advice to the engineer on the ground.

Any advice appreciated

Arne 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Scott Fella