Views
Helpful
Replies

Smart Licensing

Kevynjr37
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone,
I really appreciate some assistance in licensing a vWLC9800-Cloud. It is my first time working with smart licensing using policy. I have 120 APs, 50 of the APs have joined the controller, and the other 70 could not. I then went through a Cisco document that said a certain number of APs would join the controller, but you have to register for the rest of the other APs to join the controller.
I can't get my head around the smart licensing thing - I went through the Cisco docs and watched videos, but it is still not helping.
I would appreciate it if anybody shared the commands I need in WLC to register the license.

I've already created the virtual account and generated the token, which I find simple.

Best Regards,

Kevin

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi @Rich R,

Thank you so much for the above configs; it worked in one shot. Sorry for not updating you on time. 

@Flavio Miranda Thank you again for the video link much appreciated. 

@Scott Fella Thank you for your contributions. 

Kevynjr37

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

Hello,

This video is for Physical WLC but I believe the process is the same.

https://www.labminutes.com/wl0043_9800_wlc_license_certificate_install 

Hi Flavio,

Let me watch it; thank you.

Hi Flavio,

I just watched the video; it is very helpful, but his setup is a bit different from mine. He used vrf, and he had to specify the source interface. I am not using a vrf. Let me keep searching, but thanks for the link it has a whole lot of info that is very helpful.

Best Regards, 

Kevin

Kevynjr37
Level 1
Level 1

Good everyone,

Does anybody have any other suggestions?

Best Regards, 

Rich R
VIP
VIP

This is my config fragment for activating SLUP:

conf t
no service call-home
license smart enable
license smart url default
license smart transport smart
ip http client source-interface <mgmt interface>
ip name-server <a.b.c.d> <e.f.g.h>