Views
Helpful
Replies

Wifi disconnect troubleshooting help

Brewder
Level 1
Level 1

wireHello,

We have a Cisco based wireless enterprise based on 5508 WLC's (Firmware: 8.5.171.4).  We are struggling with periodic "disconnects" of Windows based clients.  I'm not a cisco expert, but am fairly well versed in WLAN's in general and Windows environments.  One thing I see on my Windows 10 machine when disconnected, is the error below from the event log.  About 15-30 seconds later I automatically reconnect to the wireless network.

Any idea where to even begin looking?

Wireless 802.1x authentication was restarted.

Network Adapter: Intel(R) Wi-Fi 6 AX201 160MHz
Interface GUID: {42bfef80-8bda-47b4-887e-77d97e5f4b4d}
Local MAC Address: 60:E3:2B:C4:CA:11
Network SSID: <removed>
BSS Type: Infrastructure
Eap Information: Type 25, Vendor ID 0, Vendor Type 0, Author ID 0
Restart Reason: Peer Initiated

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Brewder
Level 1
Level 1

Apparently, I never posted what our actual solution was... Turns out, the policy in our NPS setup (Windows) was configured to require re-authentication every 20 minutes instead of every 1440 minutes as designed for our site.  The policy wasn't applied to our local NPS server properly.  Once that was fixed, it solved all of our "disconnect" issues.

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

Hi

Debug on the wlc would be good but I know is difficult as you dont know when the client will drop.  And the debug is per mac address.

"Wireless 802.1x authentication was restarted." Do you use Cisco ISE?  Anything on the ISE logs? is that´s the case. 

802.1x  happen between Client and radius.

I assume Cisco ISE is an authentication mechanism.. We use Windows RADIUS....

ISE is a radius just like NPS.   I just mentioned ISE because it pretty common.

But I am pretty sure the windows radius also can show logs right?

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame