Views
Helpful
Replies

Wireless Controller and AP config

eherlex
Level 1
Level 1

Hi.

I'm new to the this type of work and i need help.
I have to configure a Cisco 5508 WLC and a Cisco ap air-lap1142n e k9 access point, and i can't find any usable information about how to do it.

I have difficulties to understand how to connect the wlc and the ap, how to config the ap properly. And a reassuring would be nice about the proper wiring of the config. (WLC service port to my pc, console cable (with usb adapter) to my pc, AP to power injector, power injector to a TP-Link switch, switch to wlc gigabit port1)

Thank you for any help you can give. 

6 Replies 6

marce1000
VIP
VIP

- Basically the ap only needs to find the controller, usually done with using DHCP option 43 on the dhcp server, controller-based AP's get all their configuration information from the controller afterwards. More fundamentally , you are using very old equipment, both controller and ap. There may be compatibility and code difficulties , concerning expired certificates on the AP. Before doing all the work, consider using a modern controller + ap.

M.

-- ' 'Good body every evening' ' this sentence was once spotted on a logo at the entrance of a Weight Watchers Club !

It is a University task, so i can't change my equipment, and i dont have access to newer ones but it is worked before, so it should work now i guess. Thank you for your help by the way, i will try it.

Scott Fella
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
There are so many documents, blogs and videos on the basics. Just review a few of them to get a better understanding, you will have to do that in order to understand how this works and functions.

https://www.networkstraining.com/cisco-wireless-lan-controller-configuration/ <>

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***