Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Wireless Network

I am planning to setup a wireless network with multiple access points in a lab for testing. I would like to use Cisco Aironet Access Points and a Controller if need be. I am new to this kind of setup. Can someone please tell me what i would need for my Lab?

I would really appreciate any help?

Thanks,

Lake

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

A few comments..

If you want to do anchoring only 4400s and up can terminate tunnels. The smaller 2100s can start the tunnels, but cant terminate them. So to anchor, you need a 4400 and a 2100 minimally.

If you want to do wired GUEST then you need 2 4400s minimally.

"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin

View solution in original post

You will be fine if you get 2 4402s. I would also get the following to round out your lab:

1) ACS Server so you can do EAP, TACACS, RADIUS

2) The access points Leo pointed out are good. I would atleast get 1 802.11n access point and some cheap 1131s

3) Get 2 layer 3 switches like a 3550 so you can route your WLANs with POE to power your access points

4) Get a WiFi spectrum card .. a good cheap one from Wi Spy is ok

5) Maybe get a cisco 7921 phone so you can play with voice and test QoS

6) Small VM so you can load WCS. You can get demos from Cisco

7) Wireshark so you can sniff 802.11 frames

"Satisfaction does not come from knowing the solution, it comes from knowing why." - Rosalind Franklin

View solution in original post

15 Replies 15

Surendra BG
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

The below link may help you!!

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6366/products_configuration_example09186a0080665cdf.shtml

Lemme know if this answered your question or if you need any more insight

Regards

Surendra

Regards
Surendra BG