Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WLC 5508 Problem - Need Help ASAP

I am a Computer Technician at a Hospital in Kansas. We are currently running on a Cisco 5508 WLC and have 57 Cisco Aironet 1240AG AP's. Somehow today our wireless controller crashed. After about 10 mins it came back online but only 36 of the 57 AP's were showing online. I went through the logs and found:

*spamApTask6: Jan 21 11:00:36.290: #DTLS-3-HANDSHAKE_FAILURE: openssl_dtls.c:698 Failed to complete DTLS handshake with peer

on all of the missing AP's.

Most of our Clinics run off a clinical wlan that is setup in the WLC. Can anyone help?

10 Replies 10

superego
Level 1
Level 1

Most probably it's the AP cert expired for 1240 models.

on CLI:

For WLC Code 7.4.140.0 and later:

config ap cert-expiry-ignore ssc enable 

config ap cert-expiry-ignore mic enable 

For 7.0.252.0:

config ap lifetime-check ssc enable

config ap lifetime-check mic enable

***Please mark as an acceptable solution/rate helpful posts

I was following a few other posts about the error that we are getting and they offered the same advice with the commands. I ssh'd into the WLC and it doesnt recognize either of those commands. So, I do not know where to go from there.

You have to console into the access point and deploy that command with the IP address of the WLC.  If you haven't configured a global un/pw for those APs the default is Cisco/Cisco.

Ah, wasnt reading right, Apologies. Ill try and give this a go. All of these AP's are unnamed and in lock boxes in the panels for some reason. Hopefully I can get this fixed soon!

bojarskic
Level 1
Level 1

Do you have Option 43 configured for your controller on those subnets where the APs are located?  Sounds like they cannot find the controller.  Maybe try to login to one of the access points and use the command "lwapp ap controller ip address" to point it to the controller.