Views
Helpful
Replies

WLC Catalyst 9800L HA question

jjtech
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am replacing an old WLC with 2 new Cisco Catalyst 9800L Wireless Lan Controllers with HA.

I have 2 questions please that I need your experts input on:

• Before doing the HA redundancy configuration (RP+RMI), what configuration specific to the standby WLC should I do on it only? Hostname, Management IP, SSH access, needed VLANs? Will everything else be taken from from the Active WLC?
  • What should be done from the access points perspective to make sure they will actually use the backup WLC in case of failure? I will be using option 43 on the DHCP server to make sure the APs know where to register. Should I specify only the wireless management interface IP address of the Active WLC in option 43 ? Will this IP be assumed by the backup WLC in case of failure?

I know these may be basic questions, however I am new to the High Availability setup with Cisco WLC, and I couldn't find the needed details in the Cisco documentation.

Thanks,

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

• Before doing the HA redundancy configuration (RP+RMI), what configuration specific to the standby WLC should I do on it only? Hostname, Management IP, SSH access, needed VLANs? Will everything else be taken from from the Active WLC? Yes correct' only these config need other config is done in active later and bulk sync to standy 
  • What should be done from the access points perspective to make sure they will actually use the backup WLC in case of failure? I will be using option 43 on the DHCP server to make sure the APs know where to register. Should I specify only the wireless management interface IP address of the Active WLC in option 43 ? Will this IP be assumed by the backup WLC in case of failure? No need anything from AP' the AP see only one wlc IP and use it' when active failed this IP is move from active (old) to standby (new active).

MHM

View solution in original post

11 Replies 11