cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WLC Guest Connection

cantrell.mike
Level 1
Level 1

Can I set up a guest wifi connection on my Cisco WLC 2504 if I already have WLANs set up inside my corporate network? I want to use port 4 and connect it directly to my ISP so that it is outside of the corporate network. I set up an interface with a valid IP from the ISP and created a "Contractor" WLAN to use that interface.

I am new to wireless controllers so I don't know what I am missing. My corporate wifi works great.

Thanks

Mike

6 Replies 6

Stephen Rodriguez
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

That should work.  What type of connection are you using to the ISP 100m or 1G?  It needs to be a 1G connection.

If it is a 1G then, Can you post the config of the WLAN and the interface?

HTH,
Steve

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please remember to rate useful posts, and mark questions as answered

HTH,
Steve

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please remember to rate useful posts, and mark questions as answered

I have a similar scenario, 2504 WLC with an existing WLAN. Client is requesting a "guest" WLAN that hits a radius gateway device for captive portal before it goes to the internet. Will be interesting to see how this can work.

The box said 'Requires Windows XP or better'. So I installed LINUX...

What do you mean hit a radius gateway for a portal page?

Sent from Cisco Technical Support iPhone App

-Scott
*** Please rate helpful posts ***

Yes a portal page similar to hotels. Client purchased a 3rd party wireless "radius gateway" they want the guest traffic to hit and authenticate to before it travels the internet. It's my first install of a device such as this which is why I am researching and reaching out for assistance.

I don't understand where your problem is? maybe you post the SSID settings for us?