cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

7921G 2821 CME 4.1

gkonheiser
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to cisco Voip and trying to set up my 7921G on my 2821 with CME 4.1 . I understand that I need a firmware file that will reside on the router for the phone to download, is this the correct file,  cmterm-7921-sccp.1-4-2.cop.sgn ?

Also will SIPS work with my hardware?

Thaks for any help, I apriciate they are very novice question.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

So it has been a while since I have tried this...and someone else can correct me if I am wrong but I believe you will be still able to use the wireless phone with cme however you might run into some bugs.  I remenber a time period when we always got firmware failed errors on the 7921s until upgraded firmware came out.

This is of course assuming you have all the cme files already on flash from the previous owner.

But I would suggest starting by reading up on CME and what files are required on flash and how cme operates. Read on sccp(skinny) and how cme using it for signaling.   If you are looking for a book on teh subject try Cisco IP communications express;  it may be a little dated now but it is what I used when I started with cme.

Good luck and happy learning!

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Gregory Brunn
Spotlight
Spotlight

To answer your first question let me begain by asking another.

What version IOS code are you running the 2821?

4.1 is a very outdated version of cme. You might want to review the following to make sure your IOS version and cme version match up and if you have active smartnet you might want to look at updating your code.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucme/requirements/guide/33matrix.htm

With that being said you will need the following files loaded onto flash  for version 4.1

CP7921g-1.1.1.loads*

Apps-1.1.1.sbn

Gui-1.1.1.sbn

Sys-1.1.1.sbn

Tnux-1.1.1.sbn

Tnuxr-1.1.1.sbn

Wlan-1.1.1.sbn CP7921g-1.1.1.loads*
Apps-1.1.1.sbn
Gui-1.1.1.sbn
Sys-1.1.1.sbn