cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot get connection-reuse to work on SIP-trunk - REGISTER and INVITE are still transmitted on seperate ports

jswm_mm01
Level 1
Level 1

First of all, I'm far from an expert so bare with me if my questions seems ordinary :-)

We have 10 offices in Europe with a central CUCM 11 and local ISR 4321/4331 gateways running IOS XE 15.5 (or so I believe - an sh run returns version 15.5 in the beginning of the config).

We're in the process of migrating one of our offices in Germany from ISDN phone lines to a SIP trunk with Deutsche Telekom since Telekom is discontinuing ISDN as a product.

We have an external partner helping us and we've been relying much on the following document that describes how it should be done (or at least how it should be done back in 2017):

https://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/solutions/collateral/enterprise/interoperability-portal/connecting-unified-communication-manager.pdf

It's definitely not been an easy experience and we're still not quite there.

First of all we ran into the problem that the document describes that we should use "registrar dns:sip-trunk.telekom.de expires 240 tcp auth-realm siptrunk.telekom.de" in the sip-ua section.

However sip-trunk.telekom.de doesn't have a DNS record and it should eow be reg.sip-trunk.telekom.de instead. The same is the case for the sip-server command.

But if I change the setup to use reg.sip-trunk.telekom.de instead, the DNS resolves fine but the REGISTER is rejected by Telekom because it then uses @Reg.sip-trunk.telekom.de as FROM domain in it's REGISTER request and that has to be @sip-trunk.telekom.de.

Currently I have a crude work around for this problem where I've created static host entries on the ISR gateway for sip.trunk-telekom.de and reg.sip-trunk.telekom.de so that it can be resolved by the gateway.