Views
Helpful
Replies

IP phone 7940G problem

bertintambo
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Experts.

I am new to ip telphony, and have been usinc Cisco packet tracer in all sort of telephony cenario.

When i decided to use the real gear, a cisco 7940 ip phone, a catalyst 3550 and a router, i came accross all sort of issues.

My first question is: does the 7940G runs a software or i have to have a TFTP server configured so that the phone can access the software?

second: i got a message saying "TFTP file not found".. then "Protocol Application Invalid".i would like t know why the messages?

- I did manage to configure 2 vlans: vlan10 and vlan200

- The trunk between the switch and the router had vlan10 as native.

- On the router i then had 2 sub interfaces: f0/0.10 native with 10.10.10.254 /8, and f0/0.200 with ip 172.16.1.254 /16

- The DHCP option 150 for the native vlan on the router.

The PC and the phone got the lease, and i could ping the default gateway successfully, from the router i could ping the phone. But i am loked as the phone does not work at all. the settings key not working, even after a factory default reset.

I really like this topic and i know i might have done some mistakes, please help me.

Thanks fo your time!!!!!!!

4 Replies 4

clileikis
Level 7
Level 7

Hi there,

If you're running an SCCP image on your phone then you'll need a CUCM or CME to control the phone and be able to place calls.  Check out the following:

Cisco Unified Communications System 8.x SRND

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucm/srnd/8x/uc8x.html

Cisco Unified CallManager Express Solution Reference Network Design Guide

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/partner/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucme/srnd/design/guide/cmesrnd.html

HTH,

Chris

Thanks Chris to come back to me. The links lead to this:

Forbidden File or Application