cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Host cannot ping IPv6 in c7200 router

chch6597
Level 1
Level 1

Hello, I'm still a newbie in networking. I'm trying to ping IPv6 from my cloud host (running Ubuntu) to DHCP IPv6 c7200 router in GNS3, but I always got From fe80::f8ac:aaff:fe9a:a103 icmp_seq=1 Destination unreachable: Address unreachable. I ran out of my ideas what it could go wrong. Could everyone teach me and guide me?

This is a short topology:

Screenshot 2019-02-14 00.46.48.png

My cloud host IPv6 address is like the following:

Screenshot 2019-02-14 00.53.58.png

And my DHCP Server (R4) running IPv6:

Screenshot 2019-02-14 00.52.14.png

Screenshot 2019-02-14 00.52.56.png

10 Replies 10

Seb Rupik
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi there,

My first thought without testing it would be you need to specify a source interface for your ping. The link-local FE80 address provides no information to the router (subnet prefix) to tell it which connected interface to source the ping from.

cheers,

Seb.

Thank you for your response. Here's the command I did: `ping6 FE80::C803:7FF:FE27:6%tap0` at Ubuntu host. As you can see, I have specified the tap0 is my source interface. Am I missing something else?
`

Tomhoppen
Level 1
Level 1

Hey,

I have 2 questions. Are you trying to ping from ubuntu host tot R4 or R5? if R5 then you would need to specifiy to R4 where R5 is this can be done by making a static route or by configuring a routing protocol. 

i see that in the topology R4 is directly connected with your ubuntu host. For pinging R4 you would need to put a router between ubuntu host and R4 that has a link with R4 in the same subnet. i think this is the case because you do get a DHCP ip because there is a layer 2 link between R4 and ubuntu host. If you haven't already done this please try to configure a router between R4 and host with the following aspects:

1. interface from new router to R4 that is in the same subnet