Views
Helpful
Replies

TACACS+ Authentication Problems

anderse
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all

I had an issue yesterday where a remote location's link went down. We thought the router was configured for both local login and TACACS+ authentication. However, the TACACS+/RADIUS server is located at the other end of the line that was down. I arrived on-site and tried to login to the local router to start troubleshooting the issue. I was unable to login. It appeared to be looking for the tacacs server only, not allowing me to login with the local username/passwords. Fortunately we determined the problem was on the other end, and we got the connection back up. But now I want to fix it, I don't want to be stuck not being to login to that router without connectivity to the authenticating server. Bear in mind, I have little experience with tacacs+, and this stuff was added just in the past few months by an employee who has left the company. I am adding the tacacs+ portion of the config. Thanks

aaa new-model

tacacs-server host 10.20.1.61

aaa authentication login default tacacs+ radius

aaa authentication login use-radius local

aaa authentication enable default line

aaa authentication ppp user-radius if-needed radius

aaa authorization exec default tacacs+ local

aaa authorization network default radius

!

username $$$port privilege 15 password 7

username $$$er password 7

username $$$ovan password 7

username $$$rs password 7

username $$$$o privilege 15 password 7

2 Replies 2

bs6825
Level 1
Level 1

On the first aaa authentication statement, add the work "line" at the end. This allows the local passwords to be used if tacacs or radius are unavailable. A line from one of our routers:

aaa authentication login default group tacacs+ line

In an emergency you can go through the password recovery process if you must get to the router.

Good Luck!

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Eric

I see several things in this that I would suggest changing. The line: