Views
Helpful
Replies

Clock slips on VWIC-2MFT in 2811

mpervere
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All -

I have a 2811 that I'm in the process of turning-up to support a 4xT1 using VWIC-2MFT-T1's. The question is how to "correctly" set clocking on the MFT's.

As is typical of the 2MFT's, as soon as a 2nd T-1 on a VWIC-2MFT comes up, I start taking "Slip Sec"s on the 2nd T-1. I have tried different clock source combinations, including "clock source line primary", various "network-clock-participate" (or not) combinations, and about a dozen other stab-in-the-dark configurations. Before I started playing with it, the slips were consistently every 9 seconds. After playing with it, I got them to every 18 seconds. But there shouldn't be ANY. So the question is what SHOULD the correct timing configuration be on that platform?

The VWIC-2MFT-T1's are in slots 1 and 3, so the controllers involved are 0/1/0, 0/1/1, 0/3/0 and 0/3/1. Ideas?

Thanks!

Mike

9 Replies 9

scottmac
Level 10
Level 10

I believe you want one of the interfaces set to "Line" and the other to "Loop."

For multi-interface T1/E1 WICs, deriving clock from more than one interface will cause the slips.

Good Luck

Scott

Don't listen to that guy ScottMac. :)

webnetwiz
Level 1
Level 1

You're right, there should be NO slips whatsoever. I've experienced a similar problem on the 2600s with the VWIC-2MFT-T1. My problem was that when one of the Ts would go down, the other would lose clock, which meant that it obtained clock from the 1st T1, while it's supposed to clock from the network. Opened a TAC case and it turned out to be a bug in the IOS for that particular WIC model. I fear that you may be looking at the same type of situation. Cisco had me test all the lines, down to a point where a BERT tester passed the circuits with flying colors.

Hi Mike,