cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Site to site VPN and Voip

jclj
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm fairly new to Cisco networking and don't know much about VPN and even less about voip. I have still been assigned the task of building a site to site vpn tunnel to our remote site (this will be with two ASA 5505's) which I think I can do. My question is how can I distribute our voip vlan to assign IP's to the phones on the remote switch if the router won't pass this info? Or at least get our phones to register from the remote site through our tunnel?

Our current voip is a hosted vendor, but we have it pushing to vlan200. Any phone connected to this vlan will get an auto assigned ip and the phone will sync. If i setup dhcp on the remote firewall then i will see duplicate ip's being assigned to the phones.

Again, still new to this (within the last 8 months)

Thanks for any help.

9 Replies 9

paulstone80
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

I see two options based on the information you've provided.

1. Configure a second subnet and DHCP scope for the VoIP network at the remote site and dhcp will be passed through the VPN to the clients.

2. If you want to extend the vlan to the remote site you can run a GRE tunnel inside the IPSec tunnel. This can't be configured on the ASA so you will need to build the tunnel between 2 routers.

HTH

Paul

Sent from Cisco Technical Support Android App

HTH Paul ****Please rate useful posts****

For the DHCP scope I build, will i need to adjust the DHCP scope at the main site to exclude the scope on the remote site? Since we have a hosted voip setup, the DHCP scope is on the vendors hardware.

Thanks

paulstone80
Level 3
Level 3

Ideally you would create an entirely new subnet otherwise you will have to modify the scope on the vendors hardware so that there is no overlap.

Do you have access to the current dhcp server on the vendors hardware?

No, I don't. I would need to open up a noc ticket with them and see if they will add the new subnet into the scope.