Views
Helpful
Replies

vFC is down Nexus 5020 Nexus 4001i

snewar
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am very new to Nexus 4001 and facing a problem related to its configuartion.

The topology involves IBM HS22 blade server with Qlogic dual port CNA, Nexus 4001, Nexus 5020, MDS 9513 and EMC storage.

I have done the configuration related to fip snooping in Nexus 4k and FCoE configurations in Nexus 5k.

The problem is that i am not able to get the enode mac address when i am running the command "show fip-snooping vlan-discovery".

also i am not able to make the vFC up in Nexus 5k.

I can upload the configuartions if needed.

Kindly suggest your comments or any solution.

FYI: All licenses are installed in Nexus 4k and 5k and FCoE and CNA drivers are installed in IBM server.

Thanks in advance,

Sanjeev

12 Replies 12

ababakha
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Sanjeev,

Just give you some understanding,  when VFC is down it means the Server CNA has not logged into the fabric using its FIP  (FCOE Initialisation)  protocol. You may still need to troubleshoot the ethernet segment. ie. spanning-tree.

So from the ethernet interface level i assumed you have configured it as a trunk  and specified a FCOE vlan so here are the things i would check:

1.   Make sure you have a native vlan defined  for the   FIP Vlan discovery that will get sent towards the N5k.  Also run "show mac-address-table) on the native vlan to ensure it is learning the servers mac.

2.   Check spanning-tree for FcOE vlan and ensure it is forwarding.

3.   Ensure the native vlan and fcoe vlan are forwarding on the FCF uplink trunk from N4k  connecting to N5k.

4.  Check Fip-snooping is configured on the N4k FCOE vlan only and not any other vlan.

5 . On the N5k check  to see the VFC is binding to the mac-adress and not an interface.. this is  enabled N4k / N5k to provide multi hop fcoe.