cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

I need a Switch

g.e.bewick
Level 1
Level 1

I am currently a student working on a project that has me designig a network for a small business. So I was hoping that someone could suggest what switch(s) I should use from the Cisco product line. I am going to need approximatley 285 ports split up between 5 floors. So I am thinking I am going to need a combination of 24 and 48 port switches. network is 100Mbps. Some of those ports are going to be for Voip, going to need VLAN. I am new to this so not sure what information you need exactly. I also need a a gateway router that can handle VoIP as well. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

gebewick

5 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Let's see if I can be of some assistance. Can you answer a few questions first about this network you are designing?

1) What type of applications will be running over the network other than Voice?

2) What type of VOIP enabled PBX will you be deploying? (Manufacturer makes a difference since a lot of them use proprietary protocols)

3) Usually 258 ports call for more Enterprise level deployments, do you know how many LAN connections and Voice Connections per floor?

4) What type of uplinks will be required between the switches? Fiber or Copper? 1G or possibly 10G?

This should be enough to get started. Let me know if you have any questions.

View solution in original post

Based on the requirements that you have provided it is highly recommended to go with more Enterprise Level

swicthes. Espesially based on the fact that we do not know what type of phones are getting deployed. The SMB switches can

only support 7.4W of PoE power to the phones on all 24 or 48 ports simultaneously.