Views
Helpful
Replies

881 Newbie

alex-grierson
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All, First post!

So i've acquired a 881 ADVSEC in the hope of going through CCNA at my own pace (and also to use as a home router). It came from a previous deployment so i've been able to reset the password, upload the current release of firmware (15.2-3), boot the ADVIPSERVICES image and mess around with a few labs.

All started to go downhill when I did a "erase /all nvram:" command. I was told this was the best way to start a fresh with the current IOS, but it seems that it wasn't the best way at all, not only erasing the current config but also the IOS that I thought I had correctly updated. Did I do something wrong when I installed the new IOS? Is there any obvious reason that being a newbie, I am missing why it has reverted back to the OS that came with it when I bought it and not the latest version I upgraded to?

Would be good to find out now if i'm doing things to wrong way and learn from the beginning.

Also, i've since done a DIR on the internal flash and not only found the latest IOS that I copied to it, but a bunch of older ones from 2009-2011 which I'm pretty sure I won't be needing and what look like older configuration files and packages (maybe from the previous deployment?). Is there a way to give the router a complete erase (flash included) and just load the current software release and start from scratch?

Be kind! Thanks...

1 Reply 1

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Also, i've since done a DIR on the internal flash and not only found the latest IOS that I copied to it, but a bunch of older ones from 2009-2011 which I'm pretty sure I won't be needing and what look like older configuration files and packages (maybe from the previous deployment?). Is there a way to give the router a complete erase (flash included) and just load the current software release and start from scratch?

The command "format flash:" will completely erase your flash.