cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Access-list not showing on show running-config

jlbbaluyut
Level 1
Level 1

I am a newly hired Network Engineer in our company. I don't know the history but I type "show access-list" command on one of our core switches. The output goes like this:

Extended IP access list preauth_ipv4_acl (per-user)
10 permit udp any any eq domain
20 permit tcp any any eq domain
30 permit udp any eq bootps any
40 permit udp any any eq bootpc
50 permit udp any eq bootpc any
60 deny ip any any
IPv6 access list preauth_ipv6_acl (per-user)
permit udp any any eq domain sequence 10
permit tcp any any eq domain sequence 20
permit icmp any any nd-ns sequence 30
permit icmp any any nd-na sequence 40
permit icmp any any router-solicitation sequence 50
permit icmp any any router-advertisement sequence 60
permit icmp any any redirect sequence 70
permit udp any eq 547 any eq 546 sequence 80
permit udp any eq 546 any eq 547 sequence 90
deny ipv6 any any sequence 100

However, when I show the running-configuration command, the access-list configurations are not showing. What could be the problem here? Is this a bug?

Model: 2960-X Catalyst

IOS version: 15.2(4)E8, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc3)

9 Replies 9

kubn2
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Do you have ISE and 802.1x authentication on the network? Because I suspect these are dynamic ACLs that are downloaded from ISE thats why you don't see them in running config.

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

If you don't run dot1.x, this is most likely an internal IOS based ACL for the control plane that does not show in the running-config but shows when you use the "show access-list" command. Nothing to be concern about.

HTH

jlbbaluyut
Level 1
Level 1

@kubn2  We don't run ISE on our network

@Reza Sharifi is there a way that I can show this command on running-config? How do you know where interface it is applied?

Hi,