cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot get VLAN Working SG500 (L2) with UniFi USG (L3)

shelzmike
Level 1
Level 1

As we can all probably relate, I am at my wits end at this point with this setup. It is in a home lab, so nothing major, but it should be working. I cannot tell where my problem lies. I am quite familiar with Cisco, but mainly Catalyst and haven't really ever worked with an SG500 before, but it doesn't seem that much different. I am quite new to the Unifi platform though. Because of that, I am not sure where my problem is.

Since the Unifi USG handles L3 routing pretty darn efficiently and by default with a network and VLAN creation, I am using the SG500 in L2 mode for simplicity.

Currently most everything is on the default VLAN 1. What I want to do is create a VLAN that I plan on using to test PiHole. Since I don't want every device to use it as its DNS and I eventually want the PiHole to also handle DHCP for that VLAN subnet, I am creating a separate VLAN for it. (Note, currently, for initial setup, I have the PiHole set to a static IP, and the Unifi SG is handling DHCP.

Here is the topology:

Unifi:

VLAN 1 - 192.168.10.0/24

GW - 192.168.10.5

VLAN 172 - 172.16.254.0/26

GW - 172.16.254.1

(I currently also have a hidden SSID that is on the VLAN ID 172 as well).

SG500:

(Note, I have other VLANs created the same way that I don't mention in the post. This is because these are in the same boat and will be used for other things later. Once I get this one figured out, those will be setup the same way)

The client is on Gi1/9

The USG is on Gi1/11

The APs are on Gi1/12 and Gi1/20

switch01#show running-config

config-file-header
switch01
v1.4.8.6 / R800_NIK_1_4_202_008
CLI v1.0
set system mode switch queues-mode 4 

file SSD indicator encrypted
@
ssd-control-start
ssd config
ssd file passphrase control unrestricted
no ssd file integrity control

!
vlan database
vlan 2,172,192,2092
exit