cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

configure Router to access ISP

OurMember
Level 1
Level 1

Up untill now we use the ISP provided consumer grade Modem to connect to the ISP/Internet. But recently our small office has 2600 router and will like to use it instead of the modem.

So....

1, So can some one advise me on the step by step needed to setup the ISP account on this router and have it connected to the internet?

2, Beside the Console port, this router also has 2 Ethernet ports, 1 serial port, and 1 Aux port. So in which of this port should we connect the ISP line?

We have Optical Fiber line by the way.

I'm novice here please, so clear/simple guide will be appreciated.

6 Replies 6

spremkumar
Level 9
Level 9

Hi

Based on your post i undertsand you are getting a ethernet drop from your ISP which you are currently connecting to a modem and want to connect to the router. if thats the case you can make use of one of the ethernet ports to this connectivity and the other port to the lan connectivity.

you have forgotten to mention the necessary info about your local lan setup how that is currently connected to your modem and how your are doing the ip addressing there for your pcs. do provide more info on those lines to get more sugggestions on how to do with your router.

regds

- currently we have the isp modem directly connected to a proxy server (micorsoft ISA 2004) which has two NICs. One NIC for the external network and the other for the LAN.

- the 2600 router is essentially used to create a trunk channel for 3 vlans that exists in a 2950 switch in the LAN.

- two ethernet ports exists in the router, ether0 is used for the lan, while ether1 is directly connected to the ISA server.

- on the router ether0 ip address is 192.168.11.1

while ether1 ip address is 192.168.12.1

- the LAN ip addresses is configured in 192.168.11.x