Views
Helpful
Replies

Help to implement port based security.

cutehameed
Level 1
Level 1

Hi folks,

I am a newbie to cisco and need help to implement port security. I have a unmanaged switch setup where users trying to plug-in wireless routers (d-link and tp-link) to get benefit of high bandwidth and i need to control this. After researching online and studying i have come up with cisco manageable switch 3750, 3560 or 2960 solution. 

I want to allow only certain range of IP's (or only few random IP's) with only limited MAC's per port. Kindly help me if commands i.e. port security are enough for my requirement or i have to apply some other command as well? I have a non-cisco DHCP server already installed.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Yes. If you manually configure the MAC addresses in the port security configuration on the interface it will only allow those MAC addresses. If you just set a limit like "maximum 15" then it will allow just the first 15 to communicate and then shutdown the port once the 16th MAC came across the port.

-David

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Sure you can allow Port-security restirct device on the ports.

you can limit the MAC address

you can do sticky (only 1 MAC per port)

example guide :

https://community.cisco.com/t5/networking-documents/how-to-configure-port-security-on-cisco-catalyst-switches-that/ta-p/3132907

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

(For 3750, 3560 and 2960)

Can i allow multiple MAC addresses manually by entering (suppose) 15 MAC addresses on a port and port will not forward traffic to other than these 15 MAC addresses?

You can sticky MAC address or you can limit maximum mac address 15, after that port will be vilolated.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help