Views
Helpful
Replies

HowTo Configure PVST on Catalyst 2950

turkminator
Level 1
Level 1

Hello friends,

i got 3 Cisco Catalyst 2950 Switches in front of me and i have to configure Per-VLAN Spanning-Tree.

im a newbie on this topic and hope to get some help.

i have a Serial Cable to link to the PC, HyperTerminal to configure on WinXP, and Ethernet Cables to link the switches.

== first i link the 3 Switches with each other, like:

SWITCH1 port 22 and SWITCH2 port 22

SWITCH1 port 23 and SWITCH3 port 23

SWITCH2 port 24 and SWITCH3 port 24

== then i create VLAN 10,20,30 on all Switches with HyperTerminal

== then i type

SW1#interface fastEthernet 0/22

SW1#switchport mode access

SW1#switchport access vlan 10

SW2#interface fastEthernet 0/22

SW2#switchport mode access

SW2#switchport access vlan 10

SW1#interface fastEthernet 0/23

SW1#switchport mode access

SW1#switchport access vlan 20

SW3#interface fastEthernet 0/23

SW3#switchport mode access

SW3#switchport access vlan 20

SW2#interface fastEthernet 0/24

SW2#switchport mode access

SW2#switchport access vlan 30

SW3#interface fastEthernet 0/24

SW3#switchport mode access

SW3#switchport access vlan 30

== then i type:

SW1#spanning-tree vlan 10 root primary

SW2#spanning-tree vlan 20 root primary

SW3#spanning-tree vlan 30 root primary

== now if i type this..

SW1#show spanning-tree vlan 10

.. the terminal returns

"Spanning-tree instance(s) for vlan 10 does not exist"

i hope to get help

Thank and Greets

Joe

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

glen.grant
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni