Views
Helpful
Replies
wavess
Beginner

Internet Only ACL - gets good IP but no web access

Hi All

Second post on here.  

trying to create an ACL for internet only.  

applied it inbound to the vlan interface.  

pcs get good ip, dns, and gateway.  

pcs cannot get on the web. (www traffic)

I read up on this and thought this ACL was correct, but I am having problems at two locations.  

maybe I can run wire shark on something to figure out what is happening, or show logs at some point?

the access ports are on a cisco catalyst 9200 switch.  the vlan interface is on a distribution switch that the access switch is uplinked to.  

i'm probably missing some output you might need...please advise!  I'm new to this stuff.  any thoughts would be appreciated.  sorry if this is so basic.

Extended IP access list INTERNET_ONLY
10 permit udp any any eq bootps
20 permit udp any any eq domain
30 permit tcp any any eq domain
40 permit tcp any any eq www
50 permit tcp any any eq 443

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
wavess
Beginner

Richard, Joseph, Kasun, Jon, Balaji.  

Thank you to all of you.  I am posting this as the accepted solution.  I do not know what I did to make this work, because nothing really changed.  Perhaps my boss was doing something wrong when he was checking for internet connectivity on ports in the internet only vlan.  

The ACL is applied inbound on the vlan interface using the access-group in command.  the ACL is created in global config and is listed below.  hopefully this helps someone else.  Thanks again!

ACL:

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18
balaji.bandi
VIP Guru

Is the internet working before you apply  ACL on the interface ?

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

internet is working on other machines in different vlans.

my question is before apply this ACL, is the internet working in this VLAN ? (we understand other VLAN working)