cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Normal practice for management -how access many vlans from one server?

ADAman
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to networking (I am a storage guy) and I am struggeling a bit on some important concepts.

Basically, how do you setup a network in order for a server to be able to access many different management interfaces? I am asking, because the PC the server admin is using, is normally connected to a switch access port, right? And this port tags and untags frames only to one VLAN ID at the time.

They obviously want to be able to connect to many different management interfaces from their PC. Do you connect the management devices to a common native VLAN (eg. VLAN 10) that also the server admin is connected to?  Or do we connect the serveradmin PC to a trunk port?? (Sorry for my low knowledge in switching, but I am working very hard to overcome this limitation).

Basically, how do you setup this so a server admin can access many different VLANS from his PC?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Atle Dale wrote:

"For devices which have out-of-band management (like, for example, SAN controllers), I normally connect their management port(s) to the same VLAN - and assign that VLAN a seperate IP subnet. This is done, on Cisco switches, using the concept of "switched virtual interfaces", or SVI's. "