cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Normal practice for management -how access many vlans from one server?

ADAman
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to networking (I am a storage guy) and I am struggeling a bit on some important concepts.

Basically, how do you setup a network in order for a server to be able to access many different management interfaces? I am asking, because the PC the server admin is using, is normally connected to a switch access port, right? And this port tags and untags frames only to one VLAN ID at the time.

They obviously want to be able to connect to many different management interfaces from their PC. Do you connect the management devices to a common native VLAN (eg. VLAN 10) that also the server admin is connected to?  Or do we connect the serveradmin PC to a trunk port?? (Sorry for my low knowledge in switching, but I am working very hard to overcome this limitation).

Basically, how do you setup this so a server admin can access many different VLANS from his PC?

19 Replies 19

Atle Dale wrote:

OK. What about if I have 2 links on the same VLAN? I assume I only need one SVI that applies for all the links? In my case I will have 2 x 10 Gbps links to a iSCSI host (not management). Just making sure here...

For the management of this storage box, I would assume normal practice is to use a dedicated switchport for management. But I have seen other ways to do it. Like trunking the required vlans to the storage box. Right?

But then how do I setup the SVIs for a trunk? Does anything changing apart from making the switchport a trunk port with the allowed VLANS? I just have to provide SVIs for the different VLANS in the trunk, right?

Trunk ports are layer 2 - they don't HAVE SVI's. SVI's are associated with layer 3 (IP) traffic, and you only need one SVI (or router) per layer two VLAN.