cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Problem setting up my asa 5055 firewall within my vlsm subnet

Peter17
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, all as this is my first post in the community I do not know the rules properly and as such sorry for posting in the wrong section.

My problem is that I am setting up a VLSM network on configuration but the firewall is giving me lots of problems.

Currently, I have already set up the VLAN 1 on the firewall which is the inside network with an IP address of 192.168.1.1 /27 on et0/1. On Vlan 2, the IP address is 192.168.1.78 /30, on et0/0, which is the outside network.

The router connected to et0/0 has an IP address of 192.168.1.77 /30.

Now the issue is when I set up VLAN 2, the inside subnet cannot ping the firewall anymore nor can it ping outside the firewall even after setting up the IP route on the firewall. But the router can ping to the firewall, I am still new to this so I am very confused as to what is happening here.

Attached below are the screenshots and configuration of my devices.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

I think the ASA has problems with classless IP addressing. Try the configuration below (IP address of Vlan 2 changed, default route changed, and service policy added). You also need to change the IP address of the HQ1 FastEthernet0/0 interface to 209.12.1.1/30, and change any routing as well.

ciscoasa#sh run
: Saved
:
ASA Version 8.4(2)
!
hostname ciscoasa
domain-name ccnasecurity.com
names
!
interface Ethernet0/0
switchport access vlan 2
!
interface Ethernet0/1
!
interface Ethernet0/2
!
interface Ethernet0/3
!
interface Ethernet0/4
!
interface Ethernet0/5
!
interface Ethernet0/6
!
interface Ethernet0/7
!
interface Vlan1
nameif inside
security-level 100
ip address 192.168.1.1 255.255.255.0
!
interface Vlan2
nameif outside
security-level 0
ip address 209.12.1.2 255.255.255.252
!
route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 209.12.1.1 1
!
class-map inspection_default
match default-inspection-traffic
!