Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Quad-Sup VSS Deployment

Hi all,

We are preparing the migration to VSS in Quad-Sup scenario (two supervisor per chasis) and, after reading lots of documentation on the subject;

i have the following question:

If the ACTIVE Supervisor fails,the HOT STANDBY Supervisor assummes the ACTIVE rol (Inter-chasis redundancy) but, i am not sure if solution' s behaviour is that the chasis where supervisor failed,will reboot as in the Dual-Sup deployment?

Or, it will make a switchover to its local Standby Supervisor (Intra-chasis) and maintain its linecards active?

Thank you very much.

Regards!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hello Iker,

I have no direct experience with a quad supervisors VSS

documentation  at the same page says:

>> VSS stateful switchover—When the in-chassis active  supervisor engine crashes, a switchover occurs and the whole chassis  reloads (including the ICS) during which the standby supervisor engine  takes over as the in-chassis active supervisor engine.

so yes the entire chassis x is reloaded ( not the whole VSS)

Hope to help

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

Hello Iker,

In current IOS version the virtual-switch chassis and all installed modules in that chassis will reset when ICA (SSO ACTIVE/HOT_STANDBY) supervisor is reset.

Refer to Chapter 2 and 4 for more detail on Quad-Sup migration, deployment and expected recovery mechanic from following guide:

Borderless Campus 1.0 Design Guide

thanks,

rahul.

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

JOHNY JOSEPH
Level 1
Level 1

In a VSS scenario , initial software releases (Minimum OS --Cisco IOS® Software Release 12.2(33)SXH1) supports only a single supervisor engine per switch member (or chassis)..This restriction was planned to be removed in a future software release. But not sure whether we can have dual sup in a chassis. You may check on the same once,

Regards,

Johny

Hi Jonhy,