Views
Helpful
Replies

switch mac address

tahir1234
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

Ok , I am studying little bit of switching technology for my day to day job requirement. May be following are very basic questions for you guys but really difficult to understand for me.

• How one can fine the MAC address of a cisco switch. For example, when I run "sh ver" I get the MAC address. & when I run "sh mac addre-table"

I also get the MAC address. So what MAC address is announced in BPDU's to decide the root of the network ?

• How to fine the port priority of a cisco switch ?

Thanks

Tahir.

20 Replies 20

normanjeter
Level 1
Level 1

BPDU's are used Spanning-tree, and while there is more to be explained than that, the easiest way is to point you to the section of cisco's site that covers the configuration, explanation of and adminitration of spanning-tree, and its uses.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst2950/software/release/12.1_9_ea1/configuration/guide/swstp.html#wp1106153

I hope this helps, if you need anything else just post any additional questions.

Thanks Norman for your reply.

The document you refered is much technicial. I only need the answer of one question.

1. How to find the MAC address of a cisco switch ?
  2. "sh mac address-table" shows mac addresses. "sh ver" show mac address. What is the actual MAC address of a cisco switch, Please.

Thanks

Your switch is likely to have many MAC addresses.

If you do a show interface for each of the interfaces, you will probably find that each one has a different MAC address.

There is one "master" MAC address for the switch, known as the Bridge ID.  You can see that be doing a show spanning-tree and looking for the "Bridge ID" (not necessarily the Root ID).

If you do a show mac-address-table, those are not the MAC addresses of your switch, but the MAC addresses of the things attached to your switch, together with the ports they are attached to.

Does that help?

Kevin Dorrell

Luxembourg