Views
Helpful
Replies

Integrating Mitel System into Existing Cisco Voip Infrastructure

Sam94
Level 1
Level 1

Dear friends,

I am in a fix as I am very very new to VoIP. There is a need to integrate mitel ip phones, using a Mitel 3300 controller into the network.  The phones are going to pass voice and data traffic as in standard deployment. A Vlan and a subnet will be created for this purpose.

We do have an existing Cisco VoIP infrastructure which was built before I joined, where the phones are deployed in only one building in the premises, registering through a CUCM server.  The Cisco phones are on a separate Vlan and subnet.

Bottom line is, the new Mitel phones will be required to talk to the existing Cisco phones and I can't seem to figure out how to get this done. Would an IP route between the mitel Vlan and Cisco Vlan achieve this, or there needs to be some special configuration on the CUCM server and mitel controller?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Scott Leport
Level 7
Level 7

Hi,

Do you have reachability between the Mitel VLAN and the VLAN where your Cisco IP phones reside? If you don't, then you will require a route. If you run an IGP / dynamic routing protocol then should be achieved by adding the necessary subnets to your routing process, but only you can really know whether or not that's required.

For the building of the SIP trunk, this link should have you covered. Can't say I've ever done the Mitel side, but the Cisco side is a standard SIP trunk config.

http://www.mitelforums.com/articles/3300/mitel-3300-Cisco-CUCM-SIP-Trunk-Configuration-guide.php

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

b.winter
VIP
VIP

Hi,

you first have to setup a connection between CUCM and the Mitel controller. Probably an ISDN connection or a SIP trunk, depending on what Mitel supports.

Then you have to configure the call routing.

E.g. Mitel controls phones with extension 2XXX and CUCM controls 1XXX.