Views
Helpful
Replies

PVDM4 max sessions & config

markbialik
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

We have an ISR4331 with a PVDM4-128 on the motherboard.  I'm new to the voice world, and have been tasked with finding out of the current PVDM4-128 is sufficient if we upgrade the total number of SIP paths we have with our provider.  I inherited the configuration and am having a hard time understanding how to configure the 'max sessions' parameter if I need to.

Currently, we can have 90 concurrent SIP sessions with our provider.  The DSP portion of our config looks like this:

!
voice-card 0/4
dsp services dspfarm
no watchdog
!

dspfarm profile 2 transcode
codec g729r8
codec g711ulaw
codec g711alaw
codec g729ar8
codec g729abr8
maximum sessions 64
associate application SCCP
!
dspfarm profile 1 mtp
codec g729r8
maximum sessions software 160
!

When I try to change the value of 'max sessions' under profile 2, 64 is the highest I can select.  That's my first question: why not 128?  I've read about the different complexities and I'm wondering if it has to do with the order of the codecs specified?  If we only configured G711 (or another low complexity codec), would it then allow me to choose 128?

We don't do any conferenceing in-house; we dial a 3rd party provider when we want to have conference calls (unless I'm completely misunderstanding what conferencing is all about).

If it matters, we do have CUCM, two AVG's for faxing, and a seperate VG connected to a PRI.  The 4331 CUBE is our SIP router to the provider.

I'm having a hard time understanding how we could ever have more than 64 SIP calls with the 'max sessions' setting the way it is.  A local resource told me that the PVDM4 is only used if transcoding needs to take place so we should be fine with the PVDM4-128 if we increase our SIP sessions from 90 to say, 110.  I guess I'm having a hard time grasping this... I assumed some sort of transcoding is always going to take place, whether it's low, medium, or high complexity.