cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Port-groups, vSphere 5 and Jumbo frames (iSCSI)

ADAman
Level 1
Level 1

We will setup a UCS system with EMC iSCSI storage. Since this is my first time, I am a little insecure in the design, although I have aquired a lot of knowledge from reading in this forum and doing various courses.

We will be using the 1000V.

1. Is it ok to just use one uplink portgroup with the following portgroups: mgmt, vmotion, iscsi, vm network, external network?

My confusion here is what about jumboframes? Shouldn't this be a separate uplink for this? In this design all the frames are using jumboframes (or is this set per portgroup?)

I read something about using Class of Service for jumbo frames. Maybe this is the clue here.

2. I read in a thread to not include mgmt and VMotion in the 1000V and put it on a VSS. Is this correct?

In this case, the uplink design would be:

1: Mgmt + vMotion (2 vnics, VSS)

2:  iSCSi (2 vnics, 1000v)

3. VM data, external traffic (2 vnics, 1000v)

All vnics set up as Active-Active, Virtual port-id teaming

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Answers inline.

Regards,

Robert

Atle Dale wrote:

I have 2 follow-up questions:

1. What is the reason I cannot use a 1000V uplink profile for the vMotion and management? Is it just for simplicity people do it that way? Or can I do it if I want? What do you do?

[Robert] There is no reason.  Many customers run all their virtual networking on the 1000v.  This way they don't need vmware admins to manage virtual switches - keeps it all in the hands of the networking team where it belongs.  Management Port profiles should be set as "system vlans" to ensure access to manage your hosts is always forwarding.  With the 1000v you can also leverage CBWFQ which can auto-classify traffic types such as "Management", "Vmotion", "1000v Control", "IP Storage" etc.

2. Shouldn't I use MTU size 9216?