cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie question on UC560 voice system. Problem registering phones.

Brandon Smith
Level 1
Level 1

Hello.  I am a newcomer to the professional IT world, and have fairly limited experience with voice and networking.  My boss has assigned me the task of implementing our new voice system, and seeing as I'm the one IT guy here it all falls in my lap .  I'm having an issue with the UC560 voice system registering our SPA508G IP phones.  I believe the problem is that the UC560 IP address (192.168.10.1) lies on a different subnet than the phones (192.168.1.x).  I am also unable to access the UC560 from my office computer through CCA since it also lies on a different subnet.  Can anyone guide me in the right direction to fixing this so that the Cisco Configuration Agent telephony wizard picks up the IP phones automatically?  Thank you!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Brandon,

Great work mate

1.  This isn't a pre-existing system and is currently NOT live.
Excellent this makes life easier for both of us

2.  We have a Cisco Small Business SF 300-48P switch
Excellent good choice of switch... Make sure it is firmware 1.0.0.8 on it, and statically assign it an IP address (We can work out which one that is after if you want)

3.  I don't have a network diagram currently but I can work on making one up.
Diagrams are a major plus and help out HEAPS

4.  I have a very basic understanding, nothing too deep.

Thats all you need

5.   I have a good grasp on network fundamentals and I understand how VLANS  work.  My problem is the practical application part..haven't had much  real world experience with this kind of equipment.
OK we can work through the VLAN stuff, it is quite important you understand their roles though as the UC's work of them fundamentally

6.  Yes we have a support contract.