cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Assistance joining cisco 1142n to Cisco 2504 WLC

Clay Plaga
Level 3
Level 3

I have a Cisco 2504 WLC and 3 Cisco 1142n access points on my test network. The 2504 WLC and AP's have been off for a few months and I 'm trying to put the wi-fi back online. I am just learning how to configure this system. The  2504 WLC boots up okay, and configuration looks like it's okay. When I connect the 1142n AP to the network, it fails to join the WLC. I am connected to the 1142n with the console connection and the AP is connected to the network.

I get this message on the AP:

CAPWAP-3 DHCP_RENEW: Could not discover WLC. Either IP address is not assigned or assigned IP is wrong

Not in Bound State

This is what I can confirm:

On the AP, the bvi1 interface is set for DHCP and is up and OK

From the WLC I can ping the AP vlan and the gateway

From the 2911 router I can ping the AP vlan and the gateway

From the switch I can ping the WLC 

The DHCP on my server is working. I have option 43 configured on the wlan vlan. I Can ping the vlan and gateway of the vlan the AP is connected to on the switch.

I have a DNS entry for the 2504 WLC

Can someone tell anything else I can try to get the AP to join the WLC?

Thank you.

I have a DNS  

13 Replies 13

marce1000
VIP
VIP

- Your wireless infrastructure is ancient and old ; the 1142n are only supported till 8.3.x (check controller software version installed) ; you also have big chance of being hit by : https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/field-notices/639/fn63942.html

M.

-- Each morning when I wake up and look into the mirror I always say ' Why am I so brilliant ? '
    When the mirror will then always repond to me with ' The only thing that exceeds your brilliance is your beauty! '